curator hall

West Asiatic Architecture has been divided into three tolerably distinct periods :

The Babylonian (Chaldaean) period (c. B.C. 4000-1275).

The Assyrian period (B.C. 1275-538).

The Persian period (B.C. 538-333).


Temples of the Babylonian period, of which such surprising discoveries have recently been made—as of the plans of the Temples of Marduk, and Ashur on the sites of ancient Babylon and Ashur—seem to have formed the centre, not only of religious, but of commercial and social life, and to have served as granaries, storehouses, and even as money banks.  Remarkable pyramidal towers, known as ziggurats (holy mountains) were also erected, from the summit of which the powerful class of astrologer-priests observed the heavenly bodies and formulated their prognostications. Traces of ziggurats, which were of different types, have been found on most of the Chaldaean city sites, such as Mugheir (Ur of the Chaldees), Nippur, Tello (Eninnu), and Warka…

View original post 3,030 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s